EPATH’s 1st Summer School:

Transgender health: Interdisciplinary approaches

EPATH organized their 1st Summer School from June 28 – July 1 2022, at Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium. We had 38 participants from 17 different countries who followed our seasonal school en titled ‘Transgender Health: Interdisciplinary Approaches’. The overall satisfaction rate was 9.6/10 and we definitely are committed in repeating the seasonal school in  2024! EPATH wishes to thank all speakers involved for their teaching, and all participants for their commitment for transgender health. Here you can find a picture of our very first class of 2022:

Interested in the next edition of the summer school? Read more about it here!

If you want to have an idea about the programme or the participation fees, read the information available on this page to get an idea of what to expect.

Participation Fees

Participation fees need to be settled AFTER selection for participation by the scientific committee. These fees include: registration fee, sandwich lunches and coffee breaks, reading material, and public debate.

For PhD students:

  • EPATH/WPATH student members: €195
  • Other students: €250
    Non-member students should provide documentation proving student status (e.g., a letter from a student supervisor written on the headed paper of their institution or a copy of their student card) to contact@epath.eu.

For Professionals:

  • EPATH members: €550
  • EPATH members reduced fee*: €250
  • EPATH non-members: €750
  • EPATH non-members reduced fee*: €450

*Participants from the following countries are entitled for reduced fees: Albania, Armenia, Azerbeijan, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Georgia, Kazahstan, Kosovo, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

For students who have no financial funds to pay for accommodation, travel expenses, and/or the summer school fee, EPATH offers 5 scholarships to those interested. The deadline for application for a scholarship has already ended.

Invited speakers must pay all cancellation fees (e.g., travel costs) themselves if they decline to give their presentation.

Scientific Committee
  • Alessandra Fisher (University of Florence, IT)
  • Annelou de Vries (Amsterdam UMC, NL)
  • Christina Richards (Regent’s University London, UK)
  • Guy T’Sjoen (UGent, BE)
  • Iva Žegura (University of Zagreb, HR)
  • Joz Motmans (UZ Gent, BE)
  • Luk Gijs (KU Leuven, BE)
  • Mudje Özer (VUmc, NL)
  • Piet Hoebeke (UZ Gent, BE)
  • Timo Nieder (UMC Hamburg-Eppendorf, DE)
  • Vanessa Lacey (Gendercare, IE)

With the support of the Flemish Government and Ghent University Doctoral Schools